Fantasy · Favorites · Romance · Young Adult

Throne of Glass (Throne of Glass Book One)

“You could rattle the stars.”

Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas is book one in the Throne of Glass series. 

In honor of Tower of Dawn releasing on September 5, I have decided to reread this series. Despite knowing that I am voluntarily destroying my soul, it is going to be worth it. I’m a masochist, what can I say?

Disclaimer: I will try my best to not give any spoilers. If you have read the series, please do not correct the information I give. You know what I mean.

This is the first installment of Celaenia Sardothien’s story. Sentenced to serve the rest of her life at the salt mines in Endovier for her crimes, a prince decides to give her a chance at freedom. Previously known as Adarlan’s greatest assassin, she enters into the competition to be the king’s champion. As she competes to become the royal assassin, she is forced to take on the facade of a jewel thief named Lillian Gordaina. As all the other competitors are brawny soldiers or captured murders, she is overlooked as a true threat. Coached by the Captain of the Guard, Chaol Westfall, she begins to develop a friendship, but the crowned prince Dorian starts to take interest her. A love triangle starts to develop pushing Chaol and Dorian against one another and tension arises. When her fellow competitors start dying off, she has to focus on staying alive instead of distractions like love. She becomes curious that something bigger might be happening and it could be her downfall… But what is that saying? Curiosity killed the cat, but satisfaction brought it back.

So even though this is my favorite series, this is by far not my favorite book. I gave it four stars years ago and am sticking by that. The reason is because of Celaenia. (Now eventually she becomes the best part of the series so don’t worry.)

Celaenia Sardothein is supposed to be the best assassin in all the land. Trained by the head of the assassins’ guild since she was orphaned, she became famous even though nobody knew who she truly was. After being betrayed, she finally got caught and sentenced to serve in the despicable salt mines. The problem with her is even though she has been beaten, whipped, and tortured, she has no humility. I am not saying I wanted her to give in to her punishment, but rather realize her faults. When one knows their faults, they ultimately become stronger. She is vain and at times that can be funny, but it can also get old.

Dorian, the prince of Erilea, is probably one of the best “prince characters” I have ever read in a young adult fantasy. He takes on the role in a way that doesn’t make me hate him, which is rare. He is intelligent and charming but has his flaws. The dynamic with his father is interesting. Dorian’s friendship with Chaol is necessary to his character and I like that because, as humans, friendships help create who we are.

Chaol, Captain of the Royal Guard, is incredibly young for his post and respected. Best friends with Dorian Havillard, he takes on the job of guarding and training Celaenia throughout the competition. He is the classic no-nonsense soldier that takes his duty to the crown seriously, yet he can’t help but be drawn to the criminal. Pretty classic. It must be the way that he is written that allows me to like him so much. Good job Maas.

So what makes this story so great? It is the story itself. I am not going to spoil it, but this is only the beginning of the story and its job was to capture attention. Just like the opening sentence of a paper is supposed to be the hook, Throne of Glass is the hook. I highly recommend you read this. It was the book that got me into the world of high fantasy.

This book has no mature content. I would say it is appropriate for high schoolers and, at a stretch, middle schoolers.

Sarah J. Maas Reviews

A Court of Thorns and Roses

Throne of Glass

Crown of Midnight