Fantasy · Romance · Young Adult

The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass)

The Assassin’s Blade written by Sarah J. Maas contains 5 novellas from the “Throne of Glass” series.163ed178e195986472b56310add33be8--assassins-blade-celaena-sardothien.jpg

This book is a compilation of five different novellas that take place before Throne of Glass. My review will go quote, a quick spoiler-free summary, and then my thoughts on each novella separately. Each novella will be award 0 to 1 stars to create the final rating.

The Assassin and the Pirate Lord

“They were Arobynn Hamel’s assassin-educated, wealthy, refined. Slavery was beneath them.”

Arobynn sends Celaena and Sam to Skull’s Bay to collect payment from the Pirate Lord, but when Celaena discovers what is truly at stake the mission goes awry.

I enjoyed seeing “baby” Celaena at the beginning of her assassin career. I hate to say it, but I always viewed her as Arobynn’s lethal little puppy when we learned about her past. To see the conflict over slavery when Celaena would end up being a slave in Endovier was a very bold and interesting move on Maas’ part. I found it genius.

Sam is mentioned in the main series as being her lover. I was very surprised to see them start off almost as enemies. It is so hard when you to read “the future”, for lack of a better word, and then go back to see where it all began because you ultimately know how everything turns out.

1 Star

The Assassin and the Healer

“The girl wore her scars the way some women wore their finest jewelry.” 

After being punished for the debacle in Skull’s Bay Arobynn sends Celaena to go to the Red Desert, but on her way, she stays in an called White Pig’s Inn where she meets a barmaid named Yrene.

I am starting to see Celaena’s character develop into who we see in Throne of Glass. She was pretty jaded in this and there were a couple of moments when I truly didn’t like her. It was pretty interesting to read this from Yrene’s perspective, especially since the contrast between her and Celaena is very extreme.

I didn’t find this one to be anywhere near as amazing or profound as the first, but it wasn’t bad. This is the shortest novella in The Assassin’s Blade at 40 pages, but it was pretty boring and felt longer than it truly was. You could skip this one and there would be no consequence.

.5 Stars

2The Assassin and the Desert

“Words could be just as deadly as steel.”

Celaena arrives at The Silent Assassins of the Red Desert where she becomes friends with an assassin trainee named Ansel, but things go drastically wrong and she needs to figure out how to escape with her life.

Is this the most original writing of Sarah J. Maas? No. It is actually pretty predictable, but I found it to be very entertaining and a lot of fun. Celaena’s dynamic with Ansel was interesting, especially at the end. I found it to be very similar to Nevernight, but I say that as a compliment. I would have found it very fascinating to see Maas bring Ilias into the major books of the series. I could have seen that going very well. He is a very likable character. I will mention that I find Celaena’s personality to be very uneven throughout these novellas so far and I am getting a bit of whiplash. Her character development isn’t going as smoothly as I would have liked.

.75 Stars

The Assassin and the Underworld

“I have no name… I’m whoever the keepers of my fate tell me to be.” 

After returning from the Red Desert with a hefty prize, Celaena informs Arobyn that she intends to buy her freedom but continue to work for him. This leads her on a new and dangerous mission that leads her into dangerous “waters”.

Romance plays a much stronger role in this novella. We really see the relationship between Sam and Celaena grow and develop into something much more real and robust. The ending really pulled at my heartstrings. A different side of Sam is revealed in this installment. He basically did a 180 from The Assassin and the Pirate Lord and I am completely okay with that. I totally ship Samlaena, but I know better… This entire novella was way too emotional to read at 1 am.

I am freaking out! Chaol and Dorian in masquerade attire? Dorian and Celaena flirting? Sign me up. I love cameos. Shame we didn’t get to see more of them.

I find it so incredible that Maas took me on this insane emotional ride in only 102 pages. That is true talent. This was way too intense, emotional, and dramatic for me to handle.

1 Star

The Assassin and the Empire

“When we die,” she said, “I don’t think the gods will even know what to do with us.” 

In order for Celaena to fulfill her dream of running away with Sam, they take on a dangerous contract to kill a crime lord but things go wrong. Way wrong.

Well, Maas just ripped my heart out and shoved it through a shredder. See Maas is just like George R.R. Martin, you can never get attached. In summary, I hate Arobynn. I hate Farran. I hate Sam for *SPOILER* dying *END OF SPOILER*. I hate the king. I hate everything. I am way too emotional right now. This novella shows off the cruelty of the world that Celaena is being raised in. It is bloody, sadistic, and not for the faint of heart. The only thing that I didn’t like about this particular novella is that Celaena should have known better. She had been warned. She had been tricked before. On the other hand, there is something about grief that blinds you. The thing is… She is Adarlan’s deadliest assassin. That title comes with expectations.

I am happy that I read this novella because it truly put everything into perspective, not just how Celaena got sent to the mines, but why she is the way she is. This novella, in particular, is something that I would consider very important to the overall series. When Celaena sees the white stag my heart physically hurt. It made me understand everything. In my review of Throne of Glass, I mentioned that I thought that Endovier should have humbled Celaena a bit, but now I am glad that they didn’t. Knowing what happened to her and seeing the queen she is becoming… I find it truly incredible. Everything makes sense.

.9 Stars

Total Rating of The Assassin’s Blade: 4.15 Stars

To purchase The Assassin’s Blade, click here.

Sarah J. Maas Reviews

 

5 thoughts on “The Assassin’s Blade (Throne of Glass)

Leave a comment